Krikorian Clarifies

September 27, 2008

Apparently I wasn’t the only one who noticed Krikorian on Latinos and the financial meltdown. Kossacks are up in arms, and he has a retraction:

Media Matters and Kos have their knickers in a twist about my ‘Cause and Effect’ posting yesterday, and they actually have a point. It should have been titled something more like ‘Misplaced Priorities,’ because the point was not that gay or Hispanic employees caused WaMu to fail, but rather the irony that even as the bank was on the verge of death due to the diversity-driven mortgage meltdown, it was still touting its diversity.

That’s actually a perfectly fair position. But as much as I hate to align myself with the Kos crowd about anything, the problem isn’t that he slipped up in titling his post. The problem is that he – and many other anti-immigration advocates – consistently rely on Mexican baiting to sell their position.

If you want to oppose immigration, I disagree, but I can see your point. If you want to make off color remarks about Mexicans, I’m okay with that, insofar as I’m okay with off color remarks about everything. But if you’re disguising xenophobia with a thin veneer of humor to sell your social policies, that’s ugly. And that’s pretty clearly what’s going on here.

UPDATE 9/27 2:04PM: I notice I didn’t read Krikorian’s second post carefully enough. I’m not sure exactly what he’s driving at with the phrase ‘the diversity-driven mortgage meltdown’, but it’s likely xenophobic nonsense. Still, it’s a lot better than the initial post.

Leave a Reply

